Shortest Year-In-Review Update Ever

My last update here was on December 1, 2014 — over 16 months ago. Yiiiikes. I’ve done so much toolin’ around the country since then I don’t even know where to start! Catching up on recapping 16 months of living in a new place, living in an old place, and working from place to place to place may be easy peasy for the likes of you, but for the likes of moi? Newwwp.

So let’s just cut to the basics, shall we?

The Basics:

Spent December 2014 – April 2015 in Los Angeles sleeping on The World’s Comfiest Air Mattress in the home of a couple friends in Pasadena. Many adventures were had. Like, a lot a lot a lot of them. Museums, beautiful walks, Welcome to Nightvale live, much rye whiskey, a Supernatural themed scavenger hunt birthday party, concerts, Disneyland, living room yoga, karaoke bars, My Little Pony, church (church!), donkeys, V.O. stuff, Christmas in San Diego, learning Makeup Things. I wish I had updated here as I went. I meant to. I just… didn’t do it. Rats.

In March 2015 I flew back to Milwaukee for two weeks for work (I’d been telecommuting), during which time I also happened to be around to celebrate St. Paddy’s Day with the usual 3/17 gang, as well as getting to celebrate my birthday with the best Murder Family a gal could ever ask for. (For all photos in this post, click for captions and to embiggen.)

I drove back to Wisconsin over the course of April 28 – May 2, 2015, with stops to stay the night with friends in Utah, Iowa, and at a hotel in… somewhere else. Wyoming? I think? It was a blur then and it’s a blur now, honestly.

July 2015 brought a ten day trip southward with my mom and grandma. We drove to South Padre Island on the Gulf Coast of Texas, where we spent a week in a hotel room facing the beach, sweating our butts off and loving every minute of it.

There is no greater feeling than sitting at a table in the shade, listening to the waves, filling in a crossword puzzle, sucking on a popsicle, and knowing there is nothing more in the world you need to be doing just then. Other than fielding work phone calls every day, that is. But like – taking work calls from a shaded balcony on the Gulf beats taking work calls from behind a desk any day, you feel me?

The rest of Summer, Fall, and Winter brought numerous other road trips, but those were all for work. And cold. They were all cold. All of them. ALL of them.

No real travel since then, but surely that must mean it’s about time there was some upcoming travel opportunity lurking out on the horizon, right?

Stay tuned…

One thought on “Shortest Year-In-Review Update Ever

Leave a Reply

